Our network

Georgia Author of the Year Awards | History nominees | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Georgia Author of the Year Awards | History nominees
Arts & Culture
Georgia Author of the Year Awards | History nominees

KENNESAW, Ga. -- The nominees for the 2012 Georgia Author of the Year Awards have been announced.

More than 100 authors have been nominated in 12 categories, including Short Stories, which is a new addition in 2012.

Seven local writers will face off to take home the top prize in the History category:

Douglas M. Frey
Marietta: The Gem City of Georgia
Frey works for Metropolitan Restoration, doing his part to preserve history in Cobb County. One of his projects includes his own house on Trammell Street near the historic Marietta Square.

Sam Heys and Dub Taft
Big Bets: Decisions & Leaders that Shaped Southern Company
Heys, a former reporter for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Columbus Ledger-Enquirer, teamed up with Southern Company employee Taft to write a history of the electricity giant.

Peter Charles Hoffer
When Benjamin Franklin Met the Reverend Whitefield: Enlightenment, Revival, and the Power of the Printed Word
Hoffer, a Harvard PhD, teaches history at the University of Georgia. He is a four-time recipient of the Choice Outstanding Academic Title award.

Joe Kirby
Images of America: The Lockheed Plant
A columnist and editor with the Marietta Daily Journal, Kirby is also a history enthusiast, especially when it comes to Cobb County.

Edward J. Larson
An Empire of Ice: Scott, Shackleton, and the Heroic Age of Antarctic Science
Larson received the 1998 Pulitzer Prize for History. He is a professor of history and law at several schools, including Pepperdine University, Stanford University and the University of Georgia.

Scott Smith
Legacy: The Secret History of Proto-Fascism in America's Greatest Little City
Smith, a LaGrange native, is working on a master's degree at the University of West Georgia. His book was inspired by a paper he wrote for a social psychology class.

The 2012 Georgia Author of the Year Awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 16 at Kennesaw State University Center. The awards are sponsored by the Georgia Writers Association.

Arts & Culture

Athens Businesses